I love my kids more than anything, I really do. But sometimes I need a fucking break, pronto. I need to NOT be tending to everyone else’s needs- even if it’s just for twenty minutes. I need to stop thinking about diapers, nursing, college funds, bills, etc.. for just a little while. We all do, and we’re not assholes for that!

Click image for source

I’ve always been a people pleaser and a caregiver- that’s just how I’m wired. The thought of doing something for myself usually throws me into a cyclone of anxiety. But if I don’t take even twenty minutes out of the day to let my brain reset, I also turn into a psychotic bitch by the bedtime (see: “Shit I get mad at my husband for when I’m tired”). 

Click image for source

And don’t you dare take that break to do dishes or laundry! Don’t. Do. It. I promise you, it can wait- all of it. Yes, you’ll probably (definitely) be the one who has to take care of it all in the end anyway, but you’ll be a lot less resentful if you have a clear, rested head. 

Click image for source

Just like at work, you need small breaks here and there where you are not required to do a damn thing. It’s vital to your mental health, and can honestly be a huge help with PPD. 

Click image for source

Sit and think about your hair, read a book, hide away by yourself with some munchies and a glass of wine (not a bottle- that’s for bedtime 😉) or start one of your millions of pinned crafts on Pinterest! Whatever YOU want to do! Personally, I like to sit back and watch a few episodes of one of my cheesey shows (HIMYM 4EVER ❤), and snack on some carbs. It helps me unwind and because I get so invested into my shows, I forget about everything just for a little while. 

Click image for source

And whatever you do, remember that it doesn’t make you an asshole! We ALL need a break now and again 😘

